I Just Used 7 Year Old Amazing Mold Putty Successfully

Artist-Made Dimensional Bead Molds

I had a more rounded, 3D polymer clay goddess bead that I’d made some years ago. The bead has a juicy, plump front and a flat back, which makes it perfect for molding … which is why I designed it that way. I wanted to make a mold of it so I took out my old Amazing Mold Putty, took a deep breath, and went through the steps to mold my bead. It worked! All the definition is there…all the details. I can’t tell, so far, that I used older mold putty.

According to the company, shelf life is typically 6-8 months:

The shelf lift is typically 6-8 months for the putty. Clayburn if you would like to call me, we will be happy to help you. The putty still may be good, there may be an issue with what you are putting it against, as it is a platnium cure silicone.”

So how did I store my mold putty? In a cool, dark basement. We used a dehumidifier before we got a central air unit that controls humidity. We still use the dehumidifier on wet rainy days as water seeps into the basement (it’s a very old house). We’ve kept the house 68 to 74 degrees F most of the time.

I’ll have to compare the mold I just made to one made with recently purchased Amazing Mold Putty.

There’s a good comparison of Amazing Mold Putty and EasyMold here (which also mentions that some substances like sulfur, tin, and stearate can interfere with the mold compounds setting). That interests me because both are available locally. So far, I’ve chosen to use Amazing Mold Putty because it’s more flexible and allows me to pop my polymer clay beads out of the mold with extreme ease.

Arist-Made Flatter Texture Molds

I am, however, curious about EasyMold. It’s a bit more rigid so I’d like to try it with the creation of texture plates — I’d sculpt and carve polymer clay, then use EasyMold to create a texture sheet of it.

Combination Molds?

And since new mold putty sticks to old mold putty, could I use a combination mold with Amazing Mold Putty for the more dimensional parts and EasyMold for the thinner, less dimensional portions? Hmmm…. I will have to check into that some day soon!

4 thoughts on “I Just Used 7 Year Old Amazing Mold Putty Successfully

    • Thank you, but no, I’ve not attempted a recipe for homemade mold putty nor would I. While I value some of the fine art artistry of some paper mache artists, Anne-Lise Koehler for example, trying to reinvent the wheel with homemade mold putty recipes is not my thing for several reasons — unproven durability, likely inferiority, limited versataility, the cost of all of the above, and time wasted. Commercially available two part mold putties like these, however, have the desired qualities. If made well and cared for, molds made with quality products like these can last well over ten years, how far over 10 years is open to numerous variables. Molds made with these quality, commercial mold putties can be used with Creative Paperclay, numerous other air dry clays, resins, and various other materials.

      Frequently, homemade recipes and experimentation most likely to fail and that don’t measure up anyway are more part of the thow-away culture.

      Like

  1. Ahh, good points, I hadn’t considered longevity, but have experimented with the caulk/cornstarch method and it works, although I don’t know how long they will last. I have the Easy Mold and love it!

    Like

    • Also, total cost of instructable silicone caulking mold compound recipe was about $31 or more. I could buy nearly 3 boxes of the commercially available mold compounds for about the same amount, providing I use coupons. Also, silcone caulking doesn’t last on the shelf nearly as long in the same storage conditions, from my experience. So the homemade recipe can’t do everything I want (resin, clays, more), it costs more, and it doesn’t last as long before or after it’s made.

      Like

Leave a Reply

