Learning to Paint. Used a Tutorial. Karen A. Scofield.

First Completed Painting in Acrylics or Watermedia

First Completed Painting in Acrylics or Watermedia

This (on the left) is my first completed painting and I made it mostly with artist grade fluid acrylics (Golden Fluid Acrylics and Da Vinci Fluid Acrylics) as well as some regular (more opaque) acrylics

I’m not counting what I did in art class as a child, when I was told what to make but next to nothing about composition and technique. What a turn off. Anyway, I’ve had paints for months, or longer, but had only done studies with them to answer specific question having to do with medium types, opacity, their feel on several surfaces, brand comparison, luminosity, transparency, quality, some limited color mixing, painting over various pencils and pens…and painting lighter colors on dark. That’s perhaps an unusual approach to learning how to paint but I only feel free to explore with abandon once I better know my materials. So first came that and now tutorials.

I’ll develop my own designs and styles later but right now, I’m having fun with a Linda Ravenscroft tutorial I found at
http://www.mightyartdemos.com/mightyartdemos-ravenscroft-2.html. After finding the tutorial, I realized I had the book already!

I started the painting with a drawing in less light fast Derwent Inktense pencils. They dissolved in the acrylic paints I laid over them. Neat trick, huh? Between that and using the more transparent fluid acrylics, this would be called a watermedia work by some, an acrylic by others, or a mixed media work.

Nothing like following a tutorial to realize your strengths and weaknesses. I don’t understand shadows, skin tones, or greens very well and faces are not yet my forte. I decided to make her hair auburn…ish.

Leave a Reply

